Instructor Spotlight: Lori Miller

This month we’re featuring Lori Miller who leads a donation based 1 and 2 level flow on Mondays at 6:30am. In addition to your yoga mat and an open and curious mind, yoga students are encouraged to bring sunglasses to Lori’s class. Her radiant personality and smile will warm you heart. See our full schedule here.

Lori Miller1. What is your favorite style of yoga?

I love so many styles, it’s hard to choose! I love Anusara, Vinyasa, Iyengar, Hatha, Aerial, Laughter, and Restorative. If I had to choose one, I would probably choose a slow Vinyasa. I feel most connected to my soul when I connect breath and movement in a slow, conscious flow.

2. What first attracted you to yoga when you began your practice?

I was first attracted to the physical aspect of yoga. I like to challenge my body and yoga allowed me to do this. I viewed yoga as a form of exercise and at first, I didn’t fully get it. I kept going back because the teacher was funny and taught from a place of love and grace. After I learned to connect my breath and movement, I connected with my essential self – that place where I felt whole and complete, abundant and strong, full of love and grace.

3. What is your favorite yoga pose right now? 

My favorite pose right now is pigeon, eka pada rajakapotasana. I have very tight hips; the external rotation of the hip joint and the lengthening of the psoas muscle that pigeon provides is very relieving!

4. What pose is still the most challenging?

My most challenging pose is also pigeon. Because my hips are tight, I work very hard to get the proper alignment. It can be very challenging to stay present and at ease in this pose. Some days are better than others, but it’s always challenging.

5. If you were an animal, you would be: a wolf on the ground, an eagle in the air and a dolphin in the sea.

Lori Miller26. Describe what yoga means in your life using just 6 words: Connecting with essential self again & again

7. What might your students be surprised to learn about you? 

That I’ve had my pet parrot Clara for 33 years. I got her when I was 9 years old. As a kid, I used to ride her around on my bicycle handlebars and we would sing together as we rode down the street. She’s been through a lot of life changes with me. College, marriage, kids. She managed to bite every one of my boyfriends, but LOVED my now husband the moment she met him.

8. Do you have any words of wisdom or advice for new students?

Approach yoga as a long term relationship with yourself. Be interested in the feelings and sensations that arise. There may be many things that you can’t do right away, that’s okay! Try not to go into judgement or be hard on yourself.

This entry was posted in Instructor Spotlight and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

