Yogi Reads: The Book of Awakening

by Olivia Cecchettini

The Book of Awakening“The Book of Awakening:  Having the Life You Want by Being Present to the Life You Have”

by Mark Nepo

Summary: Mark Nepo is a writer, poet, and spiritual pioneer of our time. In The Book of Awakening, he shares insight from his own journey after being diagnosed with cancer and provides daily inspiration for being present to and grateful for the life you have. This book is a daily ritual that has given me direction in times of struggle, grounded me in times of flight and brings me joy everyday. I believe that only by staying connected to our spirits and to the things that truly matter can we begin to live the lives we have always wanted. It takes less than 5 minutes a day to read a small section and this book can make a lasting impact on your life.

Why I love It: I love this book because it speaks to my soul. That is my true answer. My hope is that it touches you in some way as well. I read it (almost) every morning, and I’m not a morning person! Having something real and grounding that I connect with to engage my mind and heart first thing is so important to me.

Recommended For: Everyone. What I’m realizing as I type this is that what’s most important here is the ritual. Yes, this book does it for me (and I really hope you check it out!) but more importantly, I want you to find something YOU connect with. Make time to check in with your guide and with yourself as often as possible. Maybe everyday, maybe not, pick it up when you need it and it will speak to you. Xo, Ciao!

“A year’s supply of inspiration every day and the perfect gift for your friends.” – Oprah Winfrey “Mark Nepo has written a beautiful book about life, informed by the shadows of death.” – Marianne Williamson

OliviaCecchittiniOlivia Cecchettini
Contributing Writer

Olivia is a yoga teacher based out of San Diego. With a love for people, life, spirituality, reading, and, of course, yoga she spends her days connecting with students and nature. Getting outside whenever she can to enjoy all the beauty this life has to offer.

This entry was posted in Yogi Reads and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

