Instructor Spotlight: Jeanne Cummings

JeanneCummings2We are excited to welcome Jeanne (pronounced like “sun” with a J) to the Yoga One family! Jeanne brings an attentive practice and years of teaching experience along with a sweet yet professional personality. Her classes are filled with a variety of pose options to help her students feel both comfortable and challenged. Come to her Saturday morning Level 2 and up Flow at 10:30am and check out the rest of our schedule here.

1. What is your favorite style of yoga?

My practice is always evolving. I practice many styles and really attend classes to connect with all sorts of instructors who are teaching from their heart and journey. I do love Sri Dharma Mittra and his journey. My favorite practice though is when I get up in the morning and spend time in my own practice, connecting.

2. What first attracted you to yoga when you began your practice?

It’s as if yoga came to me and fell in my lap. It’s an interesting story that points to my belief that it’s part of what I’m meant to practice and share in this lifetime like it was written out for me. I feel lucky that I listened to the voice that was telling me I need to divert my career path. It wasn’t easy to listen – there were social pressures and a lot of adventures with sacrifices.

3. What is your favorite yoga pose right now?

I’m one of those people who never has a favorite of anything at any given time, not even a favorite color or piece of clothing.

4. What pose is still the most challenging?

I find any pose challenging if I’m in a heated class with no air flow. Extensive heat (with no air flow) drains my energy and strength. I was grateful when I learned (through yoga texts) that heated classes drains your Prana, or life force. I knew it didn’t make sense for me. One time I practiced yoga in 112 degree heat outside in Austin, TX and it wasn’t a problem because there was fresh air and I was connected to the elements.

JeanneCummings5. If you were an animal, you would be: I’d love to experience being all animals, but if I could only pick one, I’d choose to be a dolphin.

6. Describe what yoga means in your life using just 6 words: connecting to truth and knowledge.

7. What might your students be surprised to learn about you?

Apparently my age, haha! Also, people are surprised to learn that I can fly a plane.

8. Do you have any words of wisdom or advice for new students?

Hug yourself, and me too please!

This entry was posted in Instructor Spotlight and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

