Instructor Spotlight: Nicole Perrin

Nicole Perrin Nicole Perrin’s classes are rooted in optimal alignment principles that anchor the challenging postures she often presents. She encourages each student to blossom with her light-hearted and non-competitive approach. Nicole teaches Yoga One’s Marina and Poolside Flow at the Sheraton on Saturday mornings at 10am as well as Yoga One’s corporate yoga classes at Hotel Solamar and San Diego Gas and Electric.

Click here to see our full schedule.

To learn more about offering yoga classes at your place of business, contact Michael at michael@yogaonesandiego.com

1. What is your favorite style of yoga?

Primarily Vinyasa because I love the connection between breath and movement. When consciously brought together, it becomes a dance of self-expression – it’s what makes each person’s practice so beautiful and unique.

2. What first attracted you to yoga when you began your practice?

With a background in gymnastics and dance, I initially connected to the physicality of yoga because it challenged my flexibility and balance. I realized I had lost a lot of my flexibility as the years passed and, I”ll admit, my residual Type A came out and it was sort of a competition with myself to be able to maneuver my body into these crazy positions.

Little did I know that this competitiveness would eventually (and thankfully) transform into spiritual growth and a life-long journey of self-inquiry and discovery. Through yoga, I’ve found greater equanimity, self-love, and the ability to walk through life with greater appreciation. This is what attracts me to yoga now and keeps me coming back for more!

3. What is your favorite yoga pose right now?

Right now, handstand! So much fun to play with and even more fun learning the most graceful way to fall out of it!

4. What pose is still the most challenging?

Prone frog pose (mandukasana) because of the intense sensations this pose brings into the hip joints, my mind responds by sending me negative messages about how much it knows I don’t like this pose! For me, that’s even more reason to keep practicing 🙂

5. If you were an animal, you would be: a capuchin monkey (you know, the one on Friends)! I love the rainforest and most of all, I love to climb everywhere and do tricks!

6. Describe what yoga means in your life using just 6 words: perspective, self-inquiry, transformation, self-love, mindfulness, joy

7. What might your students be surprised to learn about you?

I backpacked in South America where I hiked Machu Picchu in Peru, and I think snakes, rats, and (most) bugs are cool. I’ve caught wild tarantulas and snakes (the non-poisonous ones) with my bare hands and owned three beloved rats when I was a teenager.  🙂

8. Do you have any words of wisdom or advice for new students?

Yoga is not about being able to touch your toes or looking like the image in the picture: it’s about what you learn on the way there. The journey is never-ending and the opportunities for self-growth are bountiful. Make a point to be present and true, and most of all, be loving towards yourself so that you can share that love with the world.

This entry was posted in Instructor Spotlight and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

