Instructor Spotlight: Amy Freeman

This month we’re showcasing Amy Freeman, a fabulous teacher who has been with Yoga One from the first day we opened our doors…over 11 years ago! Her classes are challenging, fun and rewarding. Join Amy on Tuesday and Thursday at 12pm for a level 2 lunchtime flow or Saturday mornings at 10:30 for an advanced level 2/3 Vinyasa Flow. Click here to see our full schedule.

Amy Freeman1. What is your favorite style of yoga?

ALL! Sometimes I crave a hot sweaty Vinyasa class and other days I am in need of a Restorative practice with lots of deep stretches and long holds. I love alignment based practices like Iyengar and Anusara. I love singing bowl, gong and meditation classes; I love yoga with live music; I love laughter yoga; I love Pranayama classes!

2. What first attracted you to yoga when you began your practice?

I began yoga in 1995 during a college Philosophy course and it really resonated with me. What drew me in at first was the philosophy aspect – the study of Patanjali’s Sutras and the Eight Limbed Path. I felt as though I had arrived someplace I’d been seeking for years. It’s a hard feeling to describe, but that professor transformed my life. I feel so humbled and honored to be able to share that same wisdom today. Since the day I found yoga I have never stopped practicing – the focus may shift depending on the season of my life, but the devotion to the ancient spiritual, physical and mental practice is always there.

3. What is your favorite yoga pose right now? 

Urdhva dhanurasana, full wheel 🙂 It’s my favorite because I have struggled with it for a long time and it feels so good to get into now and just enjoy! It’s invigorating and energizing.

4. What pose is still the most challenging? 

Urdhva dhanurasana and its variations (and a whole bunch more). It’s also the most challenging because I have a tight upper back, mid back and low back 🙂 but with consistent practice, it does get better.

5. If you were an animal, you would be: a crane for their long legs and freedom to fly.

6. Describe what yoga means in your life using just 6 words: Creating space, uncovering the stillness within

7. What might your students be surprised to learn about you?

They might be surprised to learn I graduated from the Fashion Institute of Technology in Manhattan. After graduation I moved to Dallas, Texas for a career as a buyer at Neiman Marcus. (I retired after three years and moved to an ashram in Virginia in 2001. Teaching yoga has been my passion ever since.) Also, I have two sons aged 7 and 9 and I teach yoga and art in their classrooms.

8. Do you have any words of wisdom or advice for new students?

Breathe. I am constantly reminding beginners (and everyone) to breathe. Pay attention to your body and breath – there is wisdom within, body and breath are our real teachers.

Have fun! I like to say our time on the mat and in the studio is our practice, the test begins when we step off the mat. Can we meet life with the same equanimity and courage with which we practice? Can we keep breathing while watching the kind lady write us a parking ticket? While listening to our kids fight? While stuck in traffic on the way to work?  Sometimes. Sometimes not.

This entry was posted in Instructor Spotlight and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Instructor Spotlight: Amy Freeman

  1. amy says:

    We love you Amy and are so grateful to have you and your lovely family in our lives – from the ‘other Amy’

  2. Pingback: Instructor Spotlight: Nam Chantepie | Yoga One

Leave a Reply

