How Yoga Lit Up My Life

Join me in welcoming Janssen to the Yoga One team! You can see her in the Office Nook on Sunday evenings signing students in to class. A recent graduate from our 2013 Yoga Teacher Training, Janssen co-teaches the FREE 6:30am Flow on Mondays. She loves everything about yoga – keep reading to learn about her awesome journey!

Janssen

Hi, I’m Janssen! I started practicing yoga off and on in college because the studio where I practiced Pilates was actually a yoga studio. To be honest, at first it was not my cup of tea! I’m what some may call hyperactive – my monkey mind could not handle that much mindfulness. But I did attend a few classes and fell in love with the physicality required as well as the beautiful combination of grace and strength in my teachers.

Fast forward 3 years.

After moving to California and gaining then losing about 25 pounds, I found myself searching for a way to reconnect to my body. I remembered yoga and how I would feel leaving class – refreshed, happy, radiant. So I searched for and found a small private studio and for six months dove head first into my practice. I was doing yoga three, four, five, six times a week! I found capabilities I thought had been lost in childhood and a sense of peace and quiet that frankly was never there in the first place.

It was incredible – I wanted everyone to know. I was blowing up Facebook with my epiphanies and it just wasn’t enough.  I had to find another way to share, to show other people how great I was feeling, to explain to everyone why I had changed so much: I wanted to teach.

Then I found Yoga One. In my quest for yoga teacher training, I researched many different studios because I wanted to make sure I was spending my money wisely. I wanted to get an education that balanced philosophy with practice. When I emailed for more information, Michael was prompt, warm, and as excited as I was that I wanted to be a yoga teacher. When he showed me the studio, he was curious and friendly. When I took one of Amy’s classes, she knew that I was interested in teacher training as well and greeted me with a hug on New Year’s Eve.

What makes Yoga One so special is that it truly is a family. I have never felt more welcome and accepted and encouraged outside of my own home. The training I received, the classes I’ve attended and the people I’ve met are an invaluable gift that I can only reciprocate by giving it to others.

Yoga gave me me again. I feel great, I’m in the best shape of my adult life and I still have so much to learn. You know that feeling of “I’m exactly where I am supposed to be”? That’s how I feel every time I get onto my mat. And I love it; I’m obsessed. Best of all, I found a group of people who don’t think that’s weird. For me, that is the definition of happiness.

This entry was posted in Student Perspectives and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to How Yoga Lit Up My Life

  1. Robin Doten says:

    Janssen you are amazing and a true inspiration! 🙂

  2. Becky Connell says:

    Nice story Janssen, way to go!! Very motivational, I’m so very happy for you!!

Leave a Reply

