Instructor Spotlight: Michael Caldwell

It’s the moment you’ve all been waiting for – an up close and personal interview with Yoga One co-founder and teacher extraordinaire, Michael Caldwell! 

Michael Caldwell

From picking apples in Australia to starting a yoga studio in San Diego, Michael embodies the yogic journey both on and off the mat. Come to his Tuesday night Vinyasa Flow at 6pm or Friday noon Flow class to see what all the hype is about! You can find our full schedule here.

1. What is your favorite style of yoga?

Flow yoga is my favorite style. I enjoy and benefit from the linking of breath with movement combined with the power of now.

2. What first attracted you to yoga when you began your practice?

The connection to my body. Prior to my practice, my body was just a means to an end, a vessel to get me where I was going or a tool to help me accomplish a task. I learned my first few poses from the book Fit for Life during the months Amy and I were in Australia picking apples ten days at a time, ten hours a day in order to make extra money for our backpacking adventures around the world. It was physically demanding work and the sensation, relief and awareness fostered from the few poses ignited a cartoon light bulb above my head that still shines.

3. What is your favorite yoga pose right now?

Always has been karnapidasana (ear pressure pose). I had a slight scoliosis which made it painful to buckle my belt among other things. This pose and yoga in general cured me. Plus when I’m in this position, I feel like I’m underwater, which I love.

animal4. What pose is still the most challenging?

Any pose where I wander from the present moment.

5. If you were an animal, you would be: Animal the drummer from the muppets!

6. Describe what yoga means in your life using just 6 words: Friends, Fun, Family, Flexibility, Freedom, Feeling

7. What might your students be surprised to learn about you?

I’m probably a little too open with my students. They might prefer to know less. But if they really want to be surprised, they can read my (as yet unpublished) coming-of-age travel memoir tentatively titled Big in Japan (…not so much in South East Asia). The adventures of a 23 year old American male finding his edge in Asia.

8. Do you have any words of wisdom or advice for new students?

I would advise new students (of every age) to read Dr Seuss’s Oh the Places You’ll Go! Yoga is an adventure that involves the mind, body and spirit, just like life. I feel the wisdom in this book can help people to be happier and healthier during their yoga practice and in their every day lives.

“Congratulations!
Today is your day.
You’re off to Great Places!
You’re off and away!”

This entry was posted in Instructor Spotlight and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Instructor Spotlight: Michael Caldwell

  1. I love MC’s noon class and miss it since we left the neighborhood. MC’s class was not only a great yoga flow class but also playful and a reminder to pause and acknowledge joy. And, where can I get my hands on a copy of ‘Big In Japan’?

  2. linda divinagracia says:

    Glad to see you are in such great shape michael, congratulations!!!!
    I have sent this to tommy and dave hall, they will be envious of you, but I am proud of you, and your success.
    Linda divinagracia

Leave a Reply

