Instructor Spotlight: Trevor Dye

This month we’re introducing you to Trevor Dye who leads Wednesday night’s 7pm Flow. We’re very happy to have Trevor sharing his creativity, humor, insight, knowledge, positive spirit and expansive beliefs regarding gravity and space with us at Yoga One. Read on for more insight into the man who could live upside-down! You can find our full class schedule here.

Trevor Dye1. What is your favorite style of yoga?

Is it fair to say my style? My practice has developed over the years as an amalgamation of all the teachers and styles I’ve experienced – from a really rigid Ashtanga sequence to a borderline break dance style of Vinyasa – and when I step on my mat I draw inspiration from them all. I also have an aversion to putting things in tidy packages or applying boundaries, so I can’t say there’s a single “style” to satiate my craving for movement.

2. What first attracted you to yoga when you began your practice?

A magazine article. I was working as a freelance journalist for a men’s lifestyle publication in New York and we had an upcoming issue focused on fitness. This was around the time Bikram Choudhury was making noise over copyright nonsense and I saw an opportunity for a great article: what would it be like for a novice to try Bikram Yoga for 30 days? I didn’t fall in love with Bikram, but I did eventually fall in love with yoga.

3. What is your favorite yoga pose right now?

Adho mukha vrksasana a.k.a. handstand! It will be my favorite now and probably forever.

4. What pose is still the most challenging?

Anything involving single leg balance. Put me upside down and I can stay there for days, put me on one leg and my mind goes crazy. But it’s good to have challenges (even if they make you want to shout profanities at times), right?

5. If you were an animal, you would be: on the endangered species list.

6. Describe what yoga means in your life using just 6 words: Unsubscribe to limits of gravity & space

7. What might your students be surprised to learn about you?

I was born legally blind – meaning I can see, just not nearly as well as most people and glasses/contacts don’t help. My retinas never fully developed in the womb, so it’s a disability I’ve faced my entire life. As such, I’ve adjusted quite well and feel grateful that I see the world in my own unique way.

8. Do you have any words of wisdom or advice for new students?

Have fun with it. Otherwise, why bother? If you can’t find joy in it, it won’t stick, and you won’t want to dedicate the time, money and energy required to fully experience the practice of yoga. Also, if you’re trying to be yoga chic, pick Prana over Lululemon. Prana sources in the U.S., Lulu sources in China – go green!

This entry was posted in Instructor Spotlight and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

