Yoga Playlist from Heather Fenwick

Heather writes: This mix is called the Funwick Flow because it’s inspired by my family, the Fenwicks – when we get together it’s good times all around! This mix wraps me in the warmth of my loved ones and instills good vibes to anyone who hears it – I can literally see the happiness seeping into my students as the songs roll on! Paul Simon is a family favorite of ours since childhood, and I love how the idea of “Hearts and Bones” actually relates to the practice of yoga in the physical body and in the yogi’s heart.

Nina Simone

My brother Will acquainted me with “Heart it Races” over Christmas break and it’s a fun, pop-y, motivating happy tune to start getting the gears shifting. My partner Will introduced me to “Space Walk” by Lemon Jelly, which inspires an uplifting, heart-opening vibe. My brother Matt has influenced my music findings for years and brought me to The xx, The National, Wilco, Local Natives, and Groove Armada, which ends the set with a salty-dreamy-floaty retake on an old jazz tune.

Nina Simone’s “Here Comes the Sun” is a tribute to the newest member of the family, my nephew Jack, whose innocence and ridiculous cuteness has melted all of our hearts and brings a ray of sunshine wherever he goes.

It’s not your typical “new age yogi mix,” but I love playing this set at Yoga One because it’s a place where anyone who enters can be footloose and funky!

Hearts and Bones – Paul Simon
Change of Time – Josh Ritter
Intro – The xx
Tides – The xx
Secret Meeting – The National
Heart it Races (As Played By Dr Dog) – Architecture In Helsinki
Jesus, Etc. – Wilco
Space Walk – Lemon Jelly
Stranger Things – Local Natives
Sweet Child O’ Mine – Luna
Bermuda Highway – My Morning Jacket
Here Comes the Sun – Nina Simone
At the River – Groove Armada

This entry was posted in Music + Art and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Yoga Playlist from Heather Fenwick

  1. Pingback: Happy 2nd Birthday, Yoga One Blog! | Yoga One

Leave a Reply

