Instructor Spotlight: Mariellen Mitchell

This month we’re checking in with Mariellen Mitchell, who leads a brand-new Yoga for Boomers class on Friday mornings at 9:30am. This class is donation based – pay what you like or use your Yoga One package. Mariellen’s gentle demeanor and strong alignment principles will leave you feeling strengthened and restored. You can find our full class schedule here.

Mariellen Mitchell with Yoga One owner Michael Caldwell

Mariellen Mitchell with Yoga One owner Michael Caldwell

1. What is your favorite style of yoga?

Iyengar yoga! I like the focus on technique and attention to alignment. It has been very beneficial to my teaching as well.

2. What first attracted you to yoga when you began your practice?

A friend of mine had been practicing yoga and her interest captured my curiosity and I started taking classes. I felt stronger, more flexible and had a calmer mind. The calmer mind and contentment I felt was what kept me coming back and wanting more.

3. What is your favorite yoga pose right now?

It’s hard to choose but I love downward dog because it is such an all-around pose: weight bearing for the arms and shoulders, stretching in the hamstrings. It strengthens my body and calms my mind.

4. What pose is still the most challenging?

Shoulder stand; my shoulders are tight and I struggle with this pose. Some days it feels better than others, like every pose, but shoulder stand always feels a little out of reach, which makes me want to practice it even more.

5. If you were an animal, you would be: a dog. They are loyal, compatible, determined, eager to please and I would like to think I have those qualities. They can also be stubborn and temperamental – traits I don’t admire, but at times display. Dogs bring so much joy and that is what I hope to do! Plus, I was born in the year of the dog.

6. Describe what yoga means in your life using just 6 words: brings peace of mind and contentment.

7. What might your students be surprised to learn about you?

Three facts: I rode a mule to the bottom of the Grand Canyon – that was quite an adventure and much better than walking. I am a Boston Red Sox fan- some people may not like that and I don’t want to rub anyone the wrong way. And I’m from a large extended family and have about 50 first cousins; it depends who you ask how many there actually are.

8. Do you have any words of wisdom or advice for new students?

Be patient with yourself and enjoy the process. Yoga is amazing and the practice is totally worth it. You will benefit from yoga in so many ways – physically, mentally and emotionally.

 

This entry was posted in Instructor Spotlight and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

