Instructor Spotlight: Wren Polansky

yogasnow2

This month we’re checking in with Wren Polansky who leads Classic Yoga on Tuesdays and Thursdays at 4:30pm. Wren gently guides students to explore their inner sensations, creating a deep connection to self which enhances their physical practice. Beginners and advanced practitioners alike will find increased mindfulness in this slower-paced class.

Wren will be hosting the Wild Mind, Wild Heart Meditation Workshop on Sunday, March 24th from 2-4pm, be sure to sign up in advance! You can find our weekly class schedule here.

1. What is your favorite style of yoga?

I enjoy a variety of styles and my practice is determined by my current interest or need. For example, if I feel lethargic and need to sweat, I may do Vinyasa; if I need teaching/practice enrichment, I may attend an Iyengar class. I mainly practice good ol’ Hatha yoga at home alone.

2. What first attracted you to yoga when you began your practice?

I grew up dancing and doing a lot of creative movement (Mom’s a professional modern dancer/choreographer) and I was introduced to yoga when I was 15 years old. Yoga felt like home. Yoga didn’t have the performance aspect of dance – I loved the privacy of the practice, the internal exploration. Yoga challenged my body in ways that left me feeling healed rather than hurt. Yoga also appealed to my love of learning – as a vast and dynamic physical and spiritual tradition, learning about yoga seemed inexhaustible. After all these years, I still feel like a beginner!

3. What is your favorite yoga pose right now?

In this moment I most want to do utthita parsvakonasana, extended side angle. So that is my favorite right now. If you asked again in ten minutes, the answer would likely be different. 🙂

4. What pose is still the most challenging?

Many, if not all, poses remain challenging! Virabhadrasana III is the first asana that comes to mind. 

5. If you were an animal, you would be: a human being, all of my animal nature resides in this body.

6. Describe what yoga means in your life using just 6 words: Work. Relief. Homecoming. Concentration. Learning. Beauty.

7. What might your students be surprised to learn about you?

In my mind, I identify as an artist perhaps more than I do as a yogi. These two practices, while complementary, are often in conflict with one another in my daily life. There is only so much time to indulge in what I love to do (especially being the Mama of a very active 15 month old!)

8. Do you have any words of wisdom or advice for new students?

Be awkward! There is nothing ultimately worthwhile to be gained by straining or self-consciously performing.

This entry was posted in Instructor Spotlight and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

