New Year’s Resolutions for 2013

new-years-resolutionAs we count down the final hours of 2012, we wanted to share with you our teachers’ beautiful resolutions and intentions for the new year! May our words inspire you to write down a resolution of your own and if you do, please share with us in the comments. May this new year bring you peace, love and more yoga!

Arati – I want God to be present a whole lot more! I believe in magic! I’ve got a lot of work to do within myself… inner yoga, like communication, parenting and work goals. And I will evolve the universe and the goddess divine and all to support my efforts and provide light!

Wren – One word: Relax!

Mara – My resolution is rather than resolving any issue or imbalance or perceived lack – I will choose to continually re-cognize (change my mind) to value and appreciate how the world comes to me.

Sarah – To practice connectedness. To be present and flexible in the moment.

Katie – I resolve to:

Rest in my safe heart
Eat until I’m happy
Spend more time in nature
Observe more daily kindness
Love every stranger like my dad
Venture into uncomfortable spaces to grow
Evoke compassion from everyone around me

Lauren – The resolution for this new, beautiful, adventurous year is acceptance. To accept whatever happens on a day-to-day, moment-to-moment basis. To accept all circumstances sent my way and to know when to let go. To not hold on to anything that may sadden or damage my soul and energy. To realize that everything happens for a reason and to be content with the way things are. Clarity. Acceptance.

Amy F. – From last year, I want to carry over my intentions for compassion and connection. This year I’m adding courage, which always reminds me of heart in French (coeur) and Latin (cor). Definition: mental or moral strength to venture, persevere, and withstand danger, fear or difficulty.

I want to live and speak more from my heart, my whole heart. Adding to that – encouragement (instruction does much, encouragement does everything!) And a final intention for community: establishing and maintaining a deeper connection to community.

“I learned that courage was not the absence of fear, but the triumph over it. The brave man is not he who does not feel afraid, but he who conquers that fear.” – Nelson Mandela

Terri – My 2013 New Year’s Resolutions:

  • to learn something new, either salsa dancing or belly dancing
  • do my best to cut down on sweets (to me this means only eating sweets 1 or 2 times a week, verses nearly every day like right now)
  • I think 2013 is the year I finally master forearm stand in the middle of the room; I’ve been so close for so long!

Robin 

  • Be present
  • Breathe deeply
  • Practice more yoga
  • Read more
  • Spend more time with loved ones
  • Travel
  • Continue to learn new things
  • Find more ways to to bring happiness to my life and others!

Jennifer – Be present and enjoy all the fun and changes in my life. Have lots of gratitude. Add more hobbies into my life; things I love such as music and art.

Laura – My resolution this year is to walk more softly on this earth. I want to let go of my desires for more and to cherish what I have, both in the material and emotional sense. I want to let go of fear more often and more readily. I resolve to live in the present moment and to do more yoga!

Shawna 

  • Try at least one new thing every day (especially stuff that scares the **** out of me…skydiving, surfing, etc. are on the list)
  • Have a super toned and fit “yoga body” 🙂
  • Read 1 book per week and journal daily

Amy and Michael – Lokah Samastah Sukhino Bhavantu, may all beings be happy and may our thoughts and actions contribute to that happiness for all!

This entry was posted in Encouragement and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to New Year’s Resolutions for 2013

  1. Kim Ogburn says:

    Thank you all for the encouraging resolutions! Amy F has given me fuel for my courage to over come my fears.
    My resolution is to do less and to focus more on what I do.
    Namaste,
    Kim

  2. yogaoneblog says:

    Thanks for sharing Kim!

Leave a Reply

