Instructor Spotlight: Missy DiDonato

This month’s Instructor Spotlight is on Missy DiDonato. Not only does she teach the super relaxing Friday restorative class at 4pm, you can flow with her on Tuesday mornings at 9am. Missy is also our much beloved Office Manager (or OM) whose friendly smile lights up the Nook. Pencil in one of her classes on your schedule in the next week and you’re sure to feel the mama bear love! Check out our full schedule here.


1. What is your favorite style of yoga?

I love vinyasa, anusara and restorative. I really try to honor how I’m feeling: some days I prefer one over the others, it just depends on my mood and energy level at that moment. The most important thing for me is to stay connected to my breath and use it to enhance the poses. If I stay grounded and breathing, then all yoga is my favorite.

2. What first attracted you to yoga when you began your practice?

I started practicing yoga when I was 14 years old and like most 14 year olds, I had low self-esteem and body image issues. Yoga made me feel good in my own skin when adolescence was making that difficult. I didn’t know it at the time, but yoga helped me find my place in life.

3. What is your favorite yoga pose right now?

Supported supta baddha konosana. It opens my lower back, shoulders, chest, hips, inner thighs and IT’S RELAXING!

4. What pose is still the most challenging?

Savasana – I’m usually really good at it, but lately I can’t seem to stop my thoughts and completely let go. When I finally do, it’s time to come out!

5. If you were an animal, you would be: a mama brown bear. I’m soft, cuddly and playful but if you mess with me or any of my cubs (a.k.a. friends, family, yoga students) then I get angry 🙂

6. Describe what yoga means in your life using just 6 words: uplifting, freedom, alignment, contentment, breath, light

7. What might your students be surprised to learn about you?

I’m mildly addicted to video and computer games. I play probably once a day, whether it’s Mario Brothers or a puzzle game on the computer. I don’t play “shoot ’em up” games though, my favorites are the ones with cute animals and plants that come to life.

8. Do you have any words of wisdom or advice for new students?

Don’t be afraid to try yoga and don’t feel guilty if you don’t like it at first! Just try a different teacher or style and find what works for you. There are so many different variations out there in the yoga world, it’s going to take some trial and error. Take note of how a class made you feel and move on.

Becoming aware of your body and mind is the most important skill yoga can offer. If you can remain aware of how you feel on the mat, then you can take that awareness off the mat. In time it spreads from you to others around you to nature. Being conscious and aware is what this world needs! Be part of THAT movement. Do YOGA! Namaste!

This entry was posted in Instructor Spotlight and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Instructor Spotlight: Missy DiDonato

  1. Pingback: The Joy of Restorative Yoga | Yoga One

  2. Pingback: The Evolution of Savasana | Yoga One

Leave a Reply

