Yoga One Blog Giveaway: Why Yoga?

This has been a month full of celebrations! On October 7th, we celebrated Yoga One’s 10 Year Anniversary with old and new students, our wonderful teachers and many dear friends. (If you missed the slideshow, you can see it here.) And this Tuesday, October 23rd, marks Yoga One Blog’s first birthday!

It all started one year ago when yoga student and teacher Laura McCorry fell in love with Yoga One and wanted a way to get to know the studio better. Many yogis have personal blogs but not many yoga studios publish a blog and Laura saw a real opportunity to take the amazing sense of community at Yoga One and bring it to a virtual home for a much wider audience.

From our humble beginnings last October with only 49 page views to last month’s record 561 views, Yoga One Blog has been growing steadily! In the next year, we’ll be adding more awesome yoga stories, interviews with instructors and students, guest posts from experts on yoga philosophy and Ayurveda, and more.

In honor of this very special day, we encourage you to –

  • Share this page with your email list, facebook friends or twitter followers
  • Check out our very first post – Welcome Home 
  • Enter the Giveaway! After all, what good is a celebration without presents?!

To enter, answer this simple question: Why Yoga?

Post your answer in the comments section and be entered to win free classes and other fun Yoga One goodies! Winners will be chosen on November 1st and announced on the blog and on our facebook page. We look forward to reading your responses!

This entry was posted in Around the Studio and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to Yoga One Blog Giveaway: Why Yoga?

  1. Christiana Gauger says:

    Why yoga? Because yoga calms, invigorates, and restores a sense of personal balance and peace that informs the way you see the world and connect with others in it.

  2. Jackie Liu says:

    Why yoga? Because it puts my mind to rest when my mind wants to run a marathon. It soothes my soul during periods of anxiety and it makes things seem a bit more clear at the end of each yoga session.

  3. Penny says:

    Why yoga? It is the perfect workout to invigorate the body and mind, while also calming the mind and body. Not to mention, practicing with all the cool people at Yoga One is fun!!!

  4. Suzanne says:

    Yoga helps me to reconnect with myself and find the balance that I sometimes lack in my life…it is grounding, yet freeing at the same time. The delicate balance between effort and effortlessness; mindfulness and surrender that yoga requires, challenges me in the best possible way to be more at peace with myself and my world just works better when I tap the well of positive energy that yoga opens up in me.

  5. Ema Muramoto Larkin says:

    Simply put.. Yoga makes me feel complete. It reminds me that I am whole. It’s opened up my heart and soul, and I feel connected to the sky and earth. I feel stronger today, more than ever, both mentally and physically. Happy Birthday YogaOne Blog ❤ Om Namah Shivaya Gurave. Namaste~

  6. Alec says:

    I wanted to stay in shape. I wanted something more interesting than weights or cardio, and I wanted something less dangerous than soccer. Yoga has been all those things.

  7. Romy says:

    Because yoga sets me free! Free from worries, free from stress, free from sadness. Yoga helps me be at ease, be happy, be me! =) Still learning! ❤

  8. Alysia says:

    Why Yoga? Yoga is the calming bliss in the chaos of my life. It allows me to fully exhale from my day and is (slowly) teaching me that the calm can exist within me at all times. I just need to learn how to breathe. The real question is why not yoga?

  9. Gary says:

    Why Yoga? Simply because it provides you with space amidst the chaos to realise what a miracle your life is, and the chance to honour the body that allows you to experience it.

  10. Melissa Arellano says:

    Why yoga? Yoga both challenges and nourishes my body and spirit. The physical challenge of mastering the various poses makes me strong of body and strong of mind, genlty pushing me out of my comfort zone and past the false limitations I create for myself in my mind. Yoga is the best tool I know to silence my mind and, even if only temporarily, release the constant stream of thoughts and anxiety that normally occupies that space. Why yoga? It renews and energizes every part of me! Like I always say, who needs Redbull? Yoga gives you wings!

  11. Shawna says:

    Why Yoga? Because Yoga makes me feel good mentally, physically and spiritually. Because I’ve learned how to care for and pay attention to my body through asana, my mind through the philosophy and my soul through meditation. I feel genuinely happy and content with life when I maintain a steady practice. I’m kind to others (to the best of my ability 🙂 )
    . The Yoga practices and community have affected me deeply in the best way possible…more than words can describe 🙂

  12. sonsinis says:

    Yoga simply completes me. I enjoy the mental and physical challenges presented in every class. I enjoy the journey of learning and honoring my body. Yoga inspires me every single time.
    Without knowing, I had been searching for yoga for a very long time but our paths had never crossed. It wasn’t until I was thousands of miles away, in a foreign place, that yoga found me.
    It made so much sense and for that I am grateful!
    Happy 1st B-Day Laura!!!!

  13. Why yoga?
    Because yoga guides us to a life of greater peace, joy, health and compassion. Because yoga is union. With Life.

  14. Kim Ogburn says:

    Why yoga?
    – It’s a mindful focus on what’s best for my body and soul. The knowledge and health benefit is ever expanding, and will last a lifetime.
    -The energy in a class can increase my investigation of poses. Class is a beautiful composition of spirits and efforts without competition. I learn a lot and get good vibrations from fellow Yogis. I take this energy into my every day life outside the studio.
    -Amy and Michael treat me like one of their family – a large family of like minded and cool folks!
    -Yoga is also a way of showing gratitude. Thank You all so very much! Namaste.

Leave a Reply

