Instructor Spotlight: Sharyn Greenberg

This month we’re checking in with the talented and oh-so-sweet Sharyn Greenberg! Sharyn is not only an awesome yoga instructor, she’s also one of Yoga One’s wonderful massage therapists. Whether you schedule a massage with her or drop in on her Wednesday night class at 7pm, you’re sure to enjoy every moment. Check out our full class schedule here, no reservations required.

1. What is your favorite style of yoga?

I like all kinds of yoga, it’s hard to narrow it down to just one style! On my own I practice Hatha/Vinyasa, but the classes I take range from Power Flow to Kundalini. I enjoy a class that challenges me physically and then puts me to rest.

2. What first attracted you to yoga when you began your practice?

I enjoyed the peaceful feelings that I got after practice, as well as the deepening sense of self-acceptance that began to develop. It was a way for me to connect with my body that is kind and forgiving, challenging and healthy. Yoga helped me realize that we are all exactly where we need to be at any given moment; and this discovery allowed me to release a lot of anxiety in my life.

3. What is your favorite yoga pose right now?

I’m really into twists right now. I like Parivrtta Trikonasana (Revolved Triangle Pose) because there is so much going on! The subtle sensations are kind of overwhelming at times but I enjoy breathing through all that, experiencing it, and letting it go after a few deep breaths.

4. What pose is still the most challenging?

Hanumanasana, also known as the splits. I’m a runner, so this pose is a challenge! It scares the shit out of me when teachers announce that we will be working on this in class…

5. If you were an animal, you would be: a hummingbird. They represent healers, messengers, and warriors and their wings move in the pattern of infinity! They are vivacious, present, and they get to spend all day smelling flowers. I think I’d enjoy flying through the sky as my main source of transportation.

6. Describe what yoga means in your life using just 6 words: Connection. Experience. Expression. Peace. Balance. Acceptance.

7. What might your students be surprised to learn about you?

I’m a Scrabble fanatic and love to play board games.

8. Do you have any words of wisdom or advice for new students?

Don’t be scared to take a risk every now and then, even if you are uncertain of the outcome. Be kind to yourself and others and do your best to embrace all the ups and downs that you encounter. Don’t take life so seriously… it’s okay to smile, laugh, and dance multiple times throughout the day (even in yoga class).

This entry was posted in Instructor Spotlight and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Instructor Spotlight: Sharyn Greenberg

  1. Pingback: Stay Healthy This Fall: 4 Ways to Calm Vata Dosha | Yoga One

Leave a Reply

