Instructor Spotlight: Terri Hobbs

This month we bring you a heart to heart with Terri Hobbs. You’ll have to set your alarm clock a little early in order to catch her 6am class on Thursdays, but it’s totally worth it! Start your day at Yoga One and feel the difference all day long! Click here to see the online schedule, no reservations required for class.

1. What is your favorite style of yoga?

Vinyasa flow, I like the linking of postures and also exploring arm balances and inversions.

2. What first attracted you to yoga when you began your practice?

Yoga was totally different than the high impact/high intensity exercise I had done all my life like running, kickboxing, step aerobics, spinning, weight lifting. Like many new yogis, I thought at first that yoga was SO SLOW and closing my eyes in a group class was WEIRD. But gradually I found the beauty and relaxation that comes from practicing yoga. After a few months of practicing regularly, I felt better and stronger… I was hooked! Today my exercise regime is completely low impact, I walk and I practice my yoga.

3. What is your favorite yoga pose right now?

Doesn’t everyone answer savasana? 2nd and 3rd favorites right now: malasana (garland pose) and sirsasana (headstand).

4. What pose is still the most challenging?

I have a hard time “sitting quietly” in Virabhadrasana I. Our physical bodies sometimes don’t respond well to certain asanas. We each have a unique expression of a pose and as long as we feel sensation, then the pose is working. Now you know what I am thinking when I’m in Vira I.

5. If you were an animal, you would be: 

I’d like to say a leopard (elegant, powerful, fearless, intelligent) but I think I might be an 8 month old labrador.

6. Describe what yoga means in your life using just 6 words: I. Am. Grateful. Peaceful. Grounded. Centered.

7. What might your students be surprised to learn about you?

Hmmm, that I am a Registered Dietitian? Or maybe that I LOVE foie gras (really sad about California’s new ban) or that I am shy.

8. Do you have any words of wisdom or advice for new students?

– Yoga is NOT just for bendy people.
– Be patient without judgment. Give yourself the gift of total acceptance and unconditional love. If you let it, yoga will take care of you.
– It’s okay to giggle in class!

This entry was posted in Instructor Spotlight and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

