Instructor Spotlight: Angela Aucoin

April passed us by too quickly but the Instructor Spotlight feature is back. You’ve already seen Angela posing in the Nook, now you can read about what really makes her yoga light shine. She teaches the Friday night Vinyasa Flow at 5:30pm so mark your calendar now for an awesome end-of-the-work-week yoga class! Click here to see the online schedule, no reservations required for class.

1. What is your favorite style of yoga?

I will borrow this answer from one of my teachers, because I truly believe it, “any yoga is good yoga.” As for my teaching, I gravitate towards the mindful breath/movement synergy found in Vinyasa Flow.

2. What first attracted you to yoga when you began your practice?

I was so inspired by my first teachers. There was something about the beauty in their practice (later, I would learn it came through balancing “stira and sukha” – ease and effort, respectively). I would leave feeling lighter, calmer, more open. I wanted to feel that way again and again.

3. What is your favorite yoga pose right now?

Urdhva dhanurasana or upward facing bow. Recently one of my teachers adjusted me in such a way that I finally felt the extreme heart opening possibilities found in this pose. It’s also totally energizing, so I like to incorporate it into my morning practice.

4. What pose is still the most challenging?

Adho mukha vrksasana (handstand) will always be challenging for me, because I naturally have an extreme “carrying angle” at my elbow joint. It illustrates how every single body is biologically different and certain poses can be more challenging because of body mechanics.

5. If you were an animal, you would be: 

I asked my partner this question, and he said a dolphin. I loved this answer because I imagine dolphins to be both strong and beautiful 🙂

6. Describe what yoga means in your life using just 6 words:

Breath, balance, community, love, commitment and growth. And CHALLENGE. I need 7 words.

7. What might your students be surprised to learn about you?

I have a crazy sweet tooth! I eat dessert at least once a day. Seriously.

8. Do you have any words of wisdom or advice for new students?

Do your best to approach your mat every time with an open mind and an open heart. Try not to compare yourself to anyone else and remember that wherever you are is EXACTLY WHERE YOU ARE SUPPOSED TO BE.

This entry was posted in Instructor Spotlight and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

