Instructor Spotlight: Jennifer Tipton

It’s that time again! Get to know Jennifer Tipton online and then come to one of her classes and meet her in person! She teaches Yoga for Backs at the studio on Tuesday nights at 7:30 or swing by the Porto Visto Hotel Rooftop on Sunday mornings at 9am ready to Flow. Click here to see the online schedule, no reservations required for class.

1. What is your favorite style of yoga?

I must say that like so many yoga practitioners I have always been drawn to the magical rhythm of the vinyasa style. In the past few years, however, I have really grown to appreciate restorative yoga. The process of deep relaxation and letting go is something that is not always celebrated in our society. We constantly push to do more and more, but how often do we really stop and allow ourselves to do less?

2. What first attracted you to yoga when you began your practice?

I come from a fitness background and started teaching classes when I was 18 years old. Yoga became an extension of my fitness regimen in order to increase flexibility and core strength. It took me a few years to notice that yoga was influencing my life in other ways as well. I started to notice that I was happier off the mat and I longed for that feeling of a peaceful purpose in the world. It has been a process but once I started to incorporate the teachings of yoga into my entire life, everything changed for me.

3. What is your favorite yoga pose right now?

I will take a restorative bridge pose with a block under the sacrum at any time of the day.

4. What pose is still the most challenging?

Anything with a bind. I have really tight shoulders and upper back muscles from years of lifting weights; binds are a constant work in progress.

5. If you were an animal, you would be: 

I would be a horse. I appreciate my freedom as an entrepreneur and I love to travel every chance I get. I am very hard-working and consider myself to be healthy and strong. The horse also happens to be my Chinese Zodiac animal.

6. Describe what yoga means in your life using just 6 words:

Forgiveness. Strength. Passion. Dedication. Discovery. Home.

7. What might your students be surprised to learn about you?

I grew up in small town Ohio and I have travelled all over the world. I’m a little bit afraid of dogs and birds. I have studied lots of languages. I have a couple of Masters degrees and I like Hello Kitty.

8. Do you have any words of wisdom or advice for new students?

I would tell new students to leave their expectations behind. Appreciate your body and what it can do. Be with yourself. Listen to your intuition. Find a teacher that you like. Trust that you are on the right path. Yoga is really good stuff 🙂

This entry was posted in Instructor Spotlight and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Instructor Spotlight: Jennifer Tipton

  1. Pingback: Reflection on B.K.S. Iyengar’s Legacy | Yoga One

  2. Pingback: Yoga Music Review: I Have Finally Seen the Light | Yoga One

Leave a Reply

