Instructor Spotlight: Carolina Moreira

Ever wondered how yoga teachers feel about their own yoga practice? Want some advice for beginners from an experienced practitioner? This month we’re showcasing the fabulous Carolina Moreira! She teaches a mixed level vinyasa flow class at Yoga One on Tuesdays at noon. Click here to see the online schedule, no reservations required for class.

1. What is your favorite style of yoga?

I love all the styles I’ve explored so far: Vinyasa Flow, Hatha, Ashtanga, Anusara and Forrest Yoga. Vinyasa Flow is still my favorite due to its beautiful synchronized dance between breath and movement.

2. What first attracted you to yoga when you began your practice?

I discovered yoga in 2008 with the intention to improve my physical fitness, strength and flexibility. However, I quickly found a powerful transformative effect through a daily practice, which brought me mental and emotional benefits beyond the physical aspects.

3. What is your favorite yoga pose right now?

I don’t have a favorite pose, however my body and mind feel stronger during and after heart openers, balancing poses and inversions. I do really enjoy urdhva dhanurasana, or full wheel.

4. What pose is still the most challenging?

Hip openers like pigeon are usually challenging postures for my body and mind due to my tight hips.

5. If you were an animal, you would be:

Although I wish I could fly like a bird, I believe dogs are the kind of animal I relate to the most. They are loving, caring, playful and loyal to their family, just like me!

6. Describe what yoga means in your life using just 6 words:

Transformational journey to your higher potential

7. What might your students be surprised to learn about you?

Perhaps the fact that I am a very “normal” average person: I love to party, I do sometimes eat red meat, sugar and drink coffee, and I can be very lazy with my yoga practice. The way I perceive my life is the way I see Yoga, an endless journey, which happens slowly, day by day, and requires practice, patience and discipline. It doesn’t happen overnight. This transformative path requires nothing more than awareness.

8. Do you have any words of wisdom or advice for new students?

Follow the words of wisdom from Patanjali! The Yoga Sutras from Patanjali are a collection of the eightfold path of Yoga, which acts as guidelines on how to live a meaningful and purposeful life. These limbs serve as a prescription for moral and ethical conduct and self-discipline; they direct attention toward one’s health; and they help us to acknowledge the spiritual aspects of our nature.

This entry was posted in Instructor Spotlight and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

